Skip to content

A double century of articles

tmgmontage

When I started this website in August 2010, I had no idea we would eventually publish one hundred articles, let alone two hundred. In my previous article, “A century of articles” I wrote: “I hope that we have enough material to provide another hundred articles.”

The articles cover my time at British Movietone News, GTV9 and ABV2 in Melbourne, my second period at Movietone, then UPITN.

The Colleagues series of articles, recalls the careers of friends and colleagues, while the Cameraman Tales, tells sometimes tragic, sometimes comic and, often, heroic tales of cameramen’s exploits that I either witnessed myself or were told the story by someone in the industry.

Terry Gallacher on The 1952 Show

Terry Gallacher on The 1952 Show

Through creating this website, I have reunited with friends from the past, such as John Freney-Mills and Don Calder from ABV2 and Ron E. Collins from Movietone.  I’ve also recorded a long interview about the start of television in Australia for the National Film and Sound Archive of Australia’s Oral History Program.  Earlier this year I was filmed for the BBC’s The 1952 Show, to talk about working at Movietone for the filming of the Funeral of King George VI.  I also recorded an interview for BBC Radio to mark the 50th Anniversary of the consecration of Coventry Cathedral.

What has been pleasing is unearthing new information on colleague’s careers, such as Frank Few’s wartime exploits at Guadalcanal, which earned him the Navy Cross, finding a photo of my friend Dick Clark, sat next to Walter Cronkite at the Nuremburg Trials, discovering Ian Grant’s work with the AFPU and that he had written a book, Cameramen at war and was awarded the Military Medal.

There is still more to come, a Colleagues article on my friend, Sir Mohinder Dhillon, more Cameraman Tales and further guest articles from Derek Evans on his time at Visnews, we’re currently preparing a series of Podcasts on Movietone.

As always I’m grateful for the support of followers who share the articles on the internet via Twitter and Facebook, as always we would like to hear suggestions for future articles.

© Terence Gallacher and terencegallacher.com, 2012.  Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this material without express and written permission from this blog’s author and/or owner is strictly prohibited. Excerpts and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Terence Gallacher and terencegallacher.com with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

3 Comments Post a comment
  1. Congratulations on the double-century and on such an entertaining and useful blog. Living history, in every sense.

    Luke

    August 14, 2012
    • Many thanks for your comments. I glad to hear that I am on the right track. I hope I am filling an obvious gap in the history of newsreels and television. There has been a good deal of misrepresentation.

      Terry

      August 15, 2012
  2. Congratulations on the 200th article – and what articles? Every one as illuminating as the next, regardless I would suggest of the specific interest of the reader, but for students of the genre an absultute goldmine. Roll on the next 100.
    Colin

    August 19, 2012

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 154 other followers

